Apparently, this was a church wedding: until death do us part.

The truth is that today, May Day, I woke up very early at the first bleat from the fold; sorry, I meant the bustle of people heading toward the square – they were students from a nearby school.

Unable to go back to sleep, I prepared to honor the day, giving my house a good cleaning, and finishing a patchwork that I display here.

Through my window came the echoes of the slogans repeated by hysterical choirs, that is, the enthusiasts. After a while, my rear window showed me the endless parade of buses of all kinds that, full of students and mobilized workers, returned them to the assembly points. The 1,200 special guests returned in cars and other vehicles.

I have no idea how much a parade like this costs, where in addition to transportation – the gasoline to move the whole motorized fleet – there are picnic lunches spread throughout places of work and study, different colored t-shirts and caps given away to control the groups, plus all the expenses of lodging, food, and transportation for the 1,200 guests invited to the proletarian event. It makes me think that we are not as short of money as we are constantly being told, in order to get us to save.

” . . . and they forced us to live with it, so the world seemed to collapse around us when we heard the truth.”

Translator’s note – the quotation is from an early speech by Fidel Castro.

Translated by: Tomás A.

