Unless you turned on your TV, you would never know that the people are having a celebration.

Me especially, I have never been able to stand this day of the week. Maybe because from the afternoon on, I had to get things ready in order to go to school on Monday. After I started working. it was worse, since come Sunday, from five o’clock on, I started getting upset since leisure time was coming to an end. I always imagined that if I had had a suitor named Domingo, I would have never have had anything to do with him, unless he would have agree to be called Chichi or any other nickname.

But this Sunday is twice as boring and sad. The streets are silent. There is hardly anyone passing by, and you cannot even hear music, in spite of the fact that we have been told that elections on my planet are a time of great celebration for all Cubans. Is it that I am an extra-terrestrial, or that it has been a long time since I stop enjoying the circus?

It has been more than fifteen years that I discovered that in our electoral process, the world’s more democratic, voting was not obligatory, different for example from Brazil where it is. Then I decided not to bother any more in going to vote, as I did for many years, when I ended up putting on the ballot the name of the main actor of the Brazilian soup-opera shown on the Cuban TV at that time.

It is unacceptable to me to give my vote to someone who does not even present a program for his candidature and the only information given is his revolutionary integration. Ladies and gentlemen, with that kind of information, as far as I know, it is impossible to repair the streets, nor supply water to the city.

This Sunday, as many others, I have devoted it to writing, watching a movie and reading a good book, one of those sent by friends from outside who had the kindness to send it to me.

Translated by David Fernandez

