This last baseball season was quite gray, since the the Industriales scarcely made it to the playoffs, which reduced the usual shine and the passion of the league.

Everyone knows that Cuban ballplayers have deserted in recent years in different ways, and that a great number of them were from this team, which therefore has had to reorganize itself various times with the usual adversity that this involves. Nevertheless they continuously grew as a team despite all these difficulties.

Last night I turned off the television in the eighth inning, because my heart was already beating too fast. I remembered Sunday’s game in which everything fell apart in that same eighth inning and when, with the change of pitchers, all hopes were dashed.

A little later I heard all kinds of noise and even two shots fired in the air,  but I thought it was for the victory of the orange. As we say here, I ‘disconnected’, and let myself be conquered by Morpheus, the God of dreams.

Can you imagine my happiness very early the next morning, when I timidly asked the first blackmarket salesperson if he had seen the game to the end, and he told me that the Industriales had run won in the ninth inning with a home run?

I was very happy for my older son who continues, from France, to be a faithful fan of this team, and for all the Industriales that are now dispersed throughout the world, for El Duque Orlando Hernandez who still wears his blue uniform as an undershirt, and for all the other former members of this team that have triumphed in the Big Leagues.

I congratulate everyone!

Translator’s note: The Lions is the nickname of the Havana Industriales. The following players have defected from the Industriales to play in baseball leagues around the world. (Source: Wikipedia)

Translated by ricote

